On the evening of 18 September 2014, Elodie Bordat from Sciences Po Aix-en-Provence in France was announced as the winner of the 2014 ENCATC Cultural Policy and Cultural Management Research Award for her outstanding PhD Thesis “The Dynamics of Changes in Public Policy. A Comparative Historical Analysis of Mexican and Argentine Cultural Policies.”

The Ceremony was held during the 2014 ENCATC Annual Conference “New Challenges for Arts and Culture: Is it just about money?” (17-19 September 2014). The Award was given by Mgr. Miroslav Rovenský, vice-minister, Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic and Ing. Michaela Šojdrová, vice-chair Committee on Culture and Education of the European Parliament. Both extremely committed to supporting excellence in cultural policy and cultural management research.

The winner was selected by the Award’s international jury from the finalists. Speaking on behalf of the Award’s international jury Annick Schramme, President of ENCATC and President of the ENCATC Award jury said: “The jury selected the winning PhD Thesis for its solid theoretical approach and methodological awareness, strong comparative perspective, and original topic. Furthermore, the jury believes Elodie Bordat’s unique and interesting research will contribute to new cultural policy orientations and be applicable for both practitioners and scholars.”

The winner was extremely honoured and appreciative of the jury’s recognition: “It is an honour for me to receive the ENCATC Cultural Policy and Cultural Management Research Award. I would like to sincerely thank ENCATC and members of the Award’s international jury for this incredible recognition and opportunity to have my PhD Thesis published by Peter Lang for an international audience. I would also like to express my gratitude to everyone who contributed to my research, especially all the cultural professionals and other stakeholders who so kindly accepted to answer my questions,” said Elodie Bordat.

Alongside the 2014 ENCATC Award winner were two shortlisted finalists: Emma Blomkamp representing Australia and New Zealand for her PhD thesis “Meaning and Measures of Urban Cultural Policy: Art, Local Government and Community Wellbeing” and Luisa Fernanda Gutierrez-Navratil from Spain for her PhD thesis “Competition in the Movie Industry: Releasing Dates and Theatre Allocations as Strategic Variables”. 


Photo gallery